Leaders of Iran

Sunday, December 19, 2004

Karoubi, Jamileh Kadivar, and Soheila Jelodarzadeh defeated for 7th Majlis

"Iran after the Elections" (February-March 2004): "Once this became apparent, the veneer of reformist strength and unity shattered. Eight of the original 22 groups in the 2nd of Khordad reformist coalition decided to go ahead and compete in the elections and lay claim to a rump reformist bloc in the new parliament. A number of well-known reformers who were not disqualified stayed in the race, including Karoubi, Jamileh Kadivar, and Soheila Jelodarzadeh. Khatami personally appealed to the public to vote in the elections, but turnout was not high enough even for Karoubi to keep his seat.

Those reformists who chose to boycott the election were still discredited by the fact that they had been unwilling to take such strong measures until the four-year-old conservative onslaught finally threatened their own re-election. By the time the noose finally closed around the reformers, the public had already grown indifferent to the plight of those who over-promised and under-delivered.



Post a Comment

<< Home